This project is read-only.

Test if point is inside model (and more)

Feb 20, 2011 at 5:12 PM
Edited Feb 20, 2011 at 10:42 PM

Hi,

I want create a game similar to minecraft (for learning) and because I'm not that experienced I want to ask a few things.

1.) Now how can I test if a point (Vector3) is inside the Model?

I have a Block class containing a BatchModelInstance, a Matrix (WorldMatrix). But the BatchModelInstance has no method to test if a point is inside it's geometry. Or in general, how can I get the face( the side of a cube for example) or the triangle the player is pointing on?

2.) How can I render so many blocks like in minecraft or like in this video ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQLXu3Ro038 ) ?

I created a 200x200x200 cube from a "cube" model. My first attempt was to draw every block with a drawing predicate and add the predicates to a Depth draw sorter. But this only helped a bit because I had to many Drawcalls, so now I'm drawing every cubemodel with a BatchModelInstance and a BatchModel class, but I don't know how i can combine this technique with the the draw predicate to occlude the blocks i can't see.

Also, if i draw each visible face, won't i have to many draw-calls again? What's the trick here?

3.) Is it more efficient to draw the block from a model, or to draw the blocks(or block sides) from a geometry drawer?

I heard it's best to generate the map and then testing each block-side if it is touching a nonsolid block. Is this true? Or is there another more efficient technique to do this?

4.)  Lighting

What is the technique called to get a lighting like this ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPz5dCQ8mQc ) ?

And what's the algorithm called that calculates if a light (ray?) is blocked by something

5.) ProjectFromScreen

Where is that function located, in what class ? I've read about it on this site but I cannot find it anywhere (using XNA4 and XEN2.0). There's only ProjectFromTarget and ProjectToTarget in the camerastack.