Semi transperent object

Dec 30, 2008 at 6:37 PM
Edited Dec 30, 2008 at 6:38 PM
Hi! I am trying to draw palm. ( model + texture shared here: http://www.fastshare.org/download/Palm.rar )
So i am setting following settings:
            state.RenderState.AlphaBlend = new AlphaBlendState();                                   
            state.RenderState.AlphaBlend.Enabled = true;                            
            state.RenderState.AlphaBlend.SourceBlend = Blend.One;                
            state.RenderState.AlphaBlend.DestinationBlend = Blend.InverseSourceAlpha;
            state.RenderState.AlphaBlend.BlendOperation = BlendFunction.Subtract;

state.RenderState.AlphaTest.Enabled = true;
            state.RenderState.AlphaTest.AlphaTestFunction = CompareFunction.Greater;

But i have some odd result:
Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us
Any ideas how to fix this?

Sorry if this question is like dumb, but i am new in XNA and Gamedev.

Coordinator
Dec 30, 2008 at 11:35 PM
Edited Dec 30, 2008 at 11:40 PM

Hi.

You have a few problems there.
The first problem is the little black specs at the edge of the leaves. These are simply because of how the texture has been applied to the model, and I can't really do anything about it. It's because the texture has two plam ferns side by side, so you are getting a little bit of overlap.

I'm guessing you are trying to get the tree looking it's best, with soft transparency.
If you look at the texture (say, in photoshop or a similar program) you will see it has 4 channels. The RGB colour channels and an alpha channel. The alpha in this texture is there to say how transparent the parts of the tree should be.

You use 'source alpha blending' (see the documentation for AlphaBlendState structure) when you want to fade between the background pixels (the destination) and the tree pixels being drawn (the source).

When AlphaBlending is enabled, the hardware uses the following blend equation: