This project is read-only.

GUIs using XEN?

Jan 7, 2009 at 2:16 PM
Hello there, I'm new to XNA and I've been looking over XEN for a while, trying to learn how to use it in a project; but seeing as WinForms is in experimental support phase, I was wondering what could be used for UI in a game using XEN? Sorry for the stupid question and general ignorance.

Thanks in advance.
Jan 8, 2009 at 5:33 AM
Edited Jan 8, 2009 at 5:34 AM

Hi.

While the winforms support is experimental, it does work, so embedding your application in a windows form should be an OK course of action. There may be some unexpected hickups, and there are some minor restrictions - but overall it should work OK.

As for xen based UIs, early on I made a decision I wasn't going to implement mouse based UIs in xen, simply because I didn't feel they wouldn't get that much widespread use (Especially given XNA games are mainly targeted at the xbox as well).
With that said, there is Xen.Ex.Graphics2D, which contains a number of classes for drawing rectangle based elements to the screen (in a hierarchy too, each element can have child elements). This includes text as well. The intention is to use these to display your controller based interface.

I hope this helps. Let me know if I've missed something

Jan 8, 2009 at 9:05 PM
Clear, thank you for the reply.
But I'm unsure how to embed a XEN app into a windows form, is it possible you provided a simple example? sorry for the inconvenience and thank you.
Jan 8, 2009 at 10:42 PM

Hello. Currently there isn't a tutorial on it. However it's fairly simple:

There is a new class, Xen.WinFormsHostControl. This is a WinForms Control, so you add a single instance of this class to your windows form (In the WinForms Desiger Toolbox, where you'd choose buttons, textboxes, etc, there should be a 'Xen Components' group right up the top, and WinFormsHostControl should be there).

Once you have that added to your form, you change the way the application is run.