Change aspect ratio

Apr 17, 2009 at 10:18 AM
Edited Apr 17, 2009 at 11:30 AM
Hello!
I'm quite new to programming with graphical frameworks, but it's neccassary for my diploma thesis (something with sound particles). I need some framework to do the job quick & dirty (or better: quick and clean), so I stumbled over Xen. It's a fine work, you don't have to mess around with all the details. Just do what I need.

And here's my question. I created a Xen window with a specific size, e.g. 800x600 pixels. But when I change to fullscreen and changing the resolution to 1440x900, the aspect ratio also changes from 4:3 to 16:10. Then all objects are warped, a circle becomes an egg-shaped something. How can I adjust the aspect ratio to the current window's resolution?

This code I got from the tutorials for initial changing of resolution:
protected override void SetupGraphicsDeviceManager(Microsoft.Xna.Framework.GraphicsDeviceManager graphics,
ref RenderTargetUsage presentation)
{
graphics.PreferredBackBufferWidth = InitialWidth;
graphics.PreferredBackBufferHeight = InitialHeight;
graphics.IsFullScreen = false;

this.graphics = graphics;
}
When I change the resolution at some point, using the stored graphics object, it becomes the described mess. I don't know where to setup the aspect ratio... the camera object doesn't seem to have a method for. Can someone help me? Thanks a lot. :) I'm really new to this stuff, maybe I don't see the obvious solution...
Coordinator
Apr 17, 2009 at 10:47 AM
Hi.
3D Cameras store a Projection object, which internally stores a nullable float for the desired Aspect ratio.
When set to null, which is the default, the aspect is computed by the size of the render target / screen.
Apr 17, 2009 at 11:29 AM
Edited Apr 17, 2009 at 11:30 AM
Thanks, I understood this. :) So I may either change the camera's aspect ratio, or change the size of the render target/screen.