Documentation

Coordinator
Nov 14, 2009 at 5:10 PM

Just a note,

I've put up a documentation CHM for 1.7. It's on the releases page. It's a tad more up to date than the old 1.0 CHM ;-)

It's one of those things that is really annoying and fiddly to build. I'm uploading the html's as well but that'll take 5 hours because it's something like 4,000 files :-D

Nov 16, 2009 at 9:50 PM

Hi!

First, many thanks for XEN API,keeep up the good work man and i hope you enjoy living in UK (i am living in Sweden btw).

However, concerning the CHM, it does not display the compiled HTML documents (atleast not on my computer).Seems to be some issue with the Adress/URL.

I am new to XNA (and C# aswell) but i have a question concerning mesh effects in Xen. I have seen the tutorials and the material/Shader effetcs but my model (.x loaded with the Xen content processor) does not have any material, but i would like to enable similar XNA effetcs

foreach (ModelMesh mesh in model.Meshes)
                {
                    foreach (BasicEffect effect in mesh.Effects)
                    {

effect.EnableDefaultLighting();
                        effect.PreferPerPixelLighting = true;
                        effect.SpecularPower = 4;
                    }
  How can i do that i XEN ?

Also, i am not sure i understand the hole vertexBuffer Vs Load content processor debate. My models contain a lot of vertices (CAD models). I guess using index and vertexbuffers enables you to draw multiple buffers but how does

Manager.Load<Xen.Ex.Graphics.Content.ModelData>

handles larger models or will the device quit if the drawTarget for the model is to big ?

Thanks and have a nice day!

Nov 26, 2009 at 6:04 PM

Anyone still here ??

In any case,if you have problem with the CHM (like me) this will fix it. You need to close the file, right click and select properties. On there in the bottom right hand corner is a nice little Unblock button.