What can be done? Blending animations and more

Feb 9, 2010 at 8:28 PM

Hi, I must admit I haven't really read through the tutorials, just tested them but I hope that is ok. I am currently creating my first 3d game, a small one and was wondering if Xen is something for me. Can Xen(from what is already built in of cause) blend animations? Meaning mixing bone transformation animation, like if a player runs and waves at the same time(if the running is one animation and waving another)?

How would one approach modelling(from a programmers point of view) if you want a charactre to hold something like the "Skinned Model Extensions Tutorial" from creators club? Can it be done?

I have read about shaders, models, meshes, some terrain making using heightmap and some animations and also custom content importer(for including bones from a .x file) so I have some knowledge but by using Xen I was hoping to be able to get the work done somewhat easier and without having to go that deep into these things, is that doable?

The game will not have a lot of objects, no fancy fancy shaders nor complex lightning(ambient and some directional light) but if possible some shadows. It will load static meshes, some models with animation data.

Thank you for reading everything and do help me shed some light on Xen and on XNA!

Coordinator
Feb 9, 2010 at 11:14 PM
Edited Feb 9, 2010 at 11:16 PM

Hi. The model format in xen supports simple weighted animation blending. In practice this is often perfectly adequate for 99% of animation blending problems.
You can actually see it in action in the animation stress test (Tutorial 20). Each character is blending the idle and walking/running animation.